Patch:Work Logo Archive standing upright, a small greyboard book with the title blocked in gold foil

Patch:Work Logo Archive

Last updated: 4 October 2026

The Patch:Work Logo Archive collects 294 logos that 247 studios and designers each donated from their own back catalogues, and binds them into a postcard-sized book with an open spine. Harrison Marshall edited and designed it, Offcuts published it in an edition of 400, and it is the first volume of a series. It is £30 at Counter-Print, which had it in stock on 6 September 2026, while the publisher's own shop has already sold out.

Buy Patch:Work Logo Archive at Counter-Print, £30

The idea, which is the whole book

Patchwork quilts get made at gatherings. Everybody brings the offcuts left over from something else, and the group turns a pile of scraps nobody had a use for into one object nobody could have made alone. Offcuts took that literally and applied it to graphic design.

So the book is not a curated survey and nobody chose the contents from above. Hundreds of designers each handed over marks from their own work, and the book is what those donations added up to. That is why it runs to 294 logos from 247 contributors: it is a headcount as much as a selection, and studios like Grafik and Mother Design sit next to one-person practices with no hierarchy between them.

The object

It is 105 x 148mm, which is A6, the size of a postcard. The cover is bare board with the title blocked in gold foil and nothing else on it, and the spine is left open so you can see the sewing. That is a deliberate choice on a book about offcuts: the construction is on show rather than wrapped.

At that size a logo gets most of a page to itself, so the book reads as a flick-through rather than a reference grid. It is closer to a deck of cards than to a Logo Modernism.

Specification, and where the two listings disagree

DetailOffcuts, the publisherCounter-Print, the stockist
Pages320316
Logos294294
Contributors247 studios and designers"hundreds of graphic designers"
SizeNot stated105 x 148mm
BindingSection sewn, open spineOpen spine with board to cover
Edition400 copiesNot stated
ISBN978-1-0683116-5-9Not stated
Price£30, sold out£30, in stock

Where the two disagree we have gone with Offcuts, because it is the publisher: its listing carries the ISBN and the edition size, and a publisher counts its own pages. Counter-Print is the source for the price and the UK stock, because that is where you can actually buy one. The four-page gap is most likely endpapers counted one way in one place and another way in the other.

Why an edition of 400 matters here

Four hundred copies is small even for a design book, and the publisher's own shop is already out. Counter-Print holds the stock that is left. If the first volume of a series sells through in its first months, the second volume gets easier to fund and harder to find, so the moment to buy this one is while a stockist still has it rather than after the series takes off.

Offcuts describes itself as a UK publisher and bookshop that works with artists and designers on limited editions, prints and objects, and the print run reflects that rather than any manufactured scarcity. There is no reprint promised.

Who made it

Harrison Marshall is credited as editor in chief and designer, with Olivia Marshall as editor. Marshall is also the designer behind the Patch:Work project itself, so the book and the thing it documents are the same piece of work. That is unusual and it is the reason the book holds together: the person deciding how to bind and sequence it is the person who asked everybody for their offcuts in the first place.

How it sits next to the other design books here

CoolCuration already has Margaret Calvert: Woman at Work and Projecting British Design. Both are histories with a subject and an argument: one designer, or one national story, told from the top down.

This is the opposite shape. There is no argument and no chronology, and the value is in the breadth of who contributed rather than in any thesis about them. It is a snapshot of what 247 working designers happened to have lying around in 2026, which is a genuinely different thing to own.

Frequently asked questions

How much is Patch:Work Logo Archive?

£30 at Counter-Print, checked 6 September 2026.

Is it still available?

Counter-Print had it in stock on 6 September 2026. Offcuts, the publisher, is sold out.

How many logos are in it?

294, from 247 studios and designers.

How big is the book?

105 x 148mm, which is A6, with an open sewn spine and a board cover.

Is it on Amazon UK?

No. There was no Amazon UK listing for it on 6 September 2026, so Counter-Print is the route.

Will there be more volumes?

Offcuts calls this the first volume of the Patch:Work series, and the cover carries a "(1)". No second volume has been dated.

Sources

  • Counter-Print: UK price, stock, size, page count and binding, checked 6 September 2026.
  • Offcuts: publisher, ISBN, edition size, contributor count and the credits.

More from CoolCuration

More things like this: 

load-more-button
load-more-button

Follow us: Instagram

Contact us

Copyright 2026 CoolCuration | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy | Affiliate Disclosure | Cool Factor

-----------

 

We are proud supporters of a safer more private internet via encouraging people to use Brave browser and are actively taking on Spammers as part of ProjectHoneypot. This site is hosted on servers that run on 100% renewable energy in the UK thanks to GreenWebHosting.

This site contains affiliate links, including to Amazon.com and Amazon.co.uk. We may earn a commission if you make a purchase or sign up for a service via these links, at no extra cost to you. All offers and promotions are accurate at the time of publication but are subject to change or withdrawal by the businesses featured. We cannot guarantee their continued availability. Read our full affiliate disclosure.

Reviews and opinions on CoolCuration reflect the personal experience of our writers at the time of publication. They are not professional endorsements and your experience may differ. Scores use our Cool Factor rating system and are given independently of any commercial relationship.

All content on CoolCuration is provided for informational and entertainment purposes only. It does not constitute financial advice, investment recommendations or an endorsement of any product or service. We are not authorised by the Financial Conduct Authority and do not offer personalised financial guidance. You should always do your own research or consult a qualified financial advisor before making any financial decisions.