Last updated: 28 August 2026Commuter carry · 2026 edit
By Stiv · Design, technology and personal finance
This article contains affiliate or referral links. If you click through and buy I may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not affect my editorial view.
The last weekend before term, and the bag question comes round again.
Search for a commuter backpack UK shoppers can actually buy and you hit a wall of American affiliate pages. Dollar prices. Recycled manufacturer copy. The word “tested”, doing a great deal of heavy lifting. So we did the boring version instead.
Eleven bags, all confirmed on sale in Britain. Every price read off the retailer we link to, on 28 August 2026. Above all, every pick carries one real downside, named out loud.
Most English schools go back on Tuesday 1 September. Meanwhile the office lot drift back the same week. This is therefore the last quiet weekend to sort your carry before the Northern line does it for you. Below you will find picks from £45 to £450, plus the chart that explains why price and laptop space barely relate.
Section 00 · Method
How this commuter backpack UK list was built
Four rules, applied to every entry, with nothing waved through on reputation.
Every price is a British price. Specifically, each figure below was read off the retailer we link to, on 28 August 2026. Where Amazon and the brand disagree, we say so rather than quietly picking the flattering one.
Every pick is on sale here. Consequently several very good American bags fell out for that reason alone. Similarly, Peak Design's Everyday Backpack came out because its 20 litre model was out of stock on Peak Design's own UK site while we were writing.
Every pick has a named flaw. A roundup where all eleven bags are excellent is a roundup nobody sensible believes. Consequently each entry carries a short grey box saying what is wrong with it.
No invented specs. Capacities, laptop sizes and warranties come from the maker or the retailer listing. Where a maker does not publish a figure, we write “not stated” instead of guessing. For an independent, lab-tested view, Which? runs a tested UK backpack roundup covering several of the brands here.
At a glance
Eleven picks, cheapest first
Tap any line to jump straight to it.
Bars are to scale. The most expensive pick costs ten times the cheapest.
Section 01 · Under £60
The sensible end
Three bags under sixty pounds. None of them pretends to be a laptop bag, and two of them will outlive the job you bought them for.

Eastpak Padded Pak’r
The default British backpack since roughly forever, and still quietly the best value here. In practice it is 24 litres, 40 by 30 by 18 centimetres, and it weighs 380 grams empty. Eastpak backs it with a 30 year warranty, which at this price is close to absurd.
for the person who wants to stop thinking about bags
The flaw: there is no padded laptop compartment. None. Eastpak lists it as fitting A4, and your MacBook rides loose against the back panel unless you add a sleeve.
£45 on Amazon UK, black, checked 28 August 2026. Eastpak's own price is £50.

Rat Bags Original Ratpack
Rat Bags, meanwhile, sews these to order in a canvas shop on St Mary's, in the Isles of Scilly. Moreover you choose the size, the main colour, the second colour and the strap, so no two need look alike. There are four sizes, from a kids' 11.5 inch up to a large at 19.5 by 15.5 by 7 inches.
for the person who would rather own something with an address
The flaw: one large compartment and a flat zipped front pocket is the whole specification. Thus no laptop sleeve, no padding and no organisation. Because it is made to order, it is also not a bag you get tomorrow.
£48.50 direct from Rat Bags, checked 28 August 2026.

Osprey Daylite Plus
Osprey builds hiking packs, so the harness on a twenty litre daypack is better than the price suggests. The real argument, however, is the guarantee. Osprey's All Mighty Guarantee promises to repair any damage or defect free of charge, “whether your pack was made in 1974 or yesterday”, and to replace it if repair fails.
for the commute that turns into a walk home
The flaw: twenty litres is tight once a lunchbox is in, and Osprey does not publish a maximum laptop size for it. You also pay the postage to send a repair in.
£52.99 on Amazon UK, black, checked 28 August 2026.
Forty five pounds buys a bag with a thirty year warranty. Four hundred and fifty buys leather trims and no laptop sleeve.
The uncomfortable finding of this year's list
Section 02 · £60 to £120
Where the commuter backpack UK market actually lives
Five bags in the band most people buy in. This is also where the laptop sleeves start appearing, and where the weather argument gets interesting.

Carhartt 23L work pack
Carhartt builds this for a building site, and so it survives a commute easily. The shell is 1200 denier polyester with the brand's Rain Defender water repellent finish, and there is a dedicated 15 inch laptop sleeve plus a fleece lined pocket for a phone. For reference it measures 11.5 by 18 by 8 inches.
for the person who resents having to be careful with a bag
The flaw: it is a single main compartment with a front organiser, so anything smaller than a laptop migrates to the bottom. It also looks like a work pack, because it is one.
£74.99 on Amazon UK, black, checked 28 August 2026.

Fjällräven Kånken Laptop 15"
You already know what it looks like, and that is rather the point. The Laptop 15 version adds the padded sleeve the original Kånken never had, so it stops being a shopper with straps. Equally, Vinylon F sheds a shower well enough for a walk to the station.
for the person buying an object as much as a bag
The flaw: the straps. They are narrow, thinly padded and sit high, and a Kånken loaded with a laptop plus a day's kit is noticeably less comfortable than the Osprey at forty pounds less.
£90.99 on Amazon UK, Frost Green, checked 28 August 2026.

Aer Go Pack 2
Aer calls this a packable day pack, yet it quietly out-specifies bags twice the price. It carries a suspended laptop pocket that takes up to a 16 inch machine, in 20 litres, at 590 grams. Meanwhile the shell is 210 denier Cordura crinkle nylon, bluesign approved, with YKK zips throughout. Aer also has a shop on Great Marlborough Street, so you can try one.
for the second bag that lives inside the first
The flaw: the lightness cuts both ways. There is no rigid back panel, so a heavy load leans on your spine rather than standing away from it. Treat it as a brilliant travel and light-commute pack, not a builder of good posture.
£99 direct from Aer UK, checked 28 August 2026.

Rains Backpack
for a country where it rains sideways
Rains is a Danish house that built a business on one idea, which is that waterproof does not have to look like camping. The Backpack is the plainest thing they make and the best argument for the brand: 18 litres, 50 by 30 by 12 centimetres, 860 grams, a squared silhouette and a flap held by magnet snaps. It is 100 per cent polyester under a coated PU face, rated to an 8,000 millimetre water column. Inside, in addition, there is a flat laptop pocket and a concealed zip pocket on the back panel. It carries a two year warranty.
Furthermore it is the one bag here that solves a specifically British problem. A shower on the way to the station stops being a decision about which bag to take.
The flaw: Rains contradicts itself on the laptop size. The feature list says the flat pocket fits a 15 inch laptop; the specification panel on the same page says 16 inches. Assume 15. Rains also grades this W3, which it defines as waterproof protection from light rain, so it is not a bag for a downpour on a bike. Amazon has been running it at £56.33, well under the £100 official price, but stock there is thin and was down to a single unit when we checked, so treat £100 as the real number.
£100 direct from Rains, checked 28 August 2026.
See it at Rains Check Amazon stock
We have written the full specification, sizing and care detail up separately on our Rains Backpack page.

Antler Urban Light
Antler has been making British luggage since 1914, and the Urban Light is the commuter end of that. It is 17 litres, 41.5 by 28 by 15 centimetres and 900 grams, in 100 per cent recycled polyester, with a dedicated laptop compartment, an expandable bottle holder and a sleeve that drops over a suitcase handle. Consequently it doubles as an underseat bag on a budget airline.
for the commute that turns into a Friday flight
The flaw: Antler does not publish a maximum laptop size, which at this money it should. Seventeen litres is also the smallest capacity in this list, so it is a laptop and a lunch, not a gym kit.
£115, currently £92 in Antler's own sale, checked 28 August 2026.
The awkward bit
Price does not buy laptop space
This is the single most useful thing in the whole list, so it gets its own chart.
Sorted by price, cheapest first. The pattern is not the one you would expect.
Spend £99 on the Aer and you get a suspended pocket for a 16 inch laptop. Spend £269 on the Briggs & Riley and the maximum is 14 inches. Spend £450 on the Paul Smith and no laptop size is quoted at all.
There is a reason for this, and it is not that expensive brands are cheating you. Slim business packs are designed around a 13 or 14 inch corporate laptop, because that is what the people buying £269 backpacks were issued. Fashion houses, meanwhile, design a bag and let the specification follow. Nevertheless, if you carry a 16 inch MacBook Pro, the price tag tells you nothing useful. Therefore check the number, every time.
Section 03 · Over £150
The buy-once end
Three bags where you are paying for a warranty, an engineering department, or a name. Only one of those three is a bad reason.

Bellroy Classic Rolltop
If you want one bag that does the office and the weekend, this is it. The roll top adjusts to four heights, so 26 litres shrinks down for a cycle in and opens up for two nights away. There is a padded 16 inch laptop sleeve with a document slip, a side zip into the main compartment, a bottle pocket with drainage and a luggage pass-through. Bellroy backs it for six years and prices in pounds with duties included, which spares you the customs surprise.
for the person who wants to own one bag, not four
The flaw: roll tops are slower than zips, and you will notice that every single morning. At £159 it also sits awkwardly between the £99 Aer and the lifetime-guaranteed Briggs & Riley.
£159 direct from Bellroy in Canva Weave, checked 28 August 2026.

Briggs & Riley @Work Slim Backpack
Briggs & Riley's guarantee is the whole pitch, and it is a serious one. They call it Simple As That: lifetime cover, no receipt needed, including damage caused by airlines. The @Work Slim is the commuter shape, with an integrated padded laptop sleeve, a tablet slip pocket and a slip-through panel for a suitcase handle.
for the person who has replaced three bags in five years
The flaw: it fits up to a 14 inch laptop. At £269 that is genuinely hard to defend if you carry a 16 inch machine, and you should look at the Medium Widemouth instead. It also looks corporate in a way the Bellroy does not.
£269 direct from Briggs & Riley, checked 28 August 2026.

Paul Smith recycled polyamide backpack
for the person who is buying a Paul Smith, not a backpack
Let us be straight about what this is. It is a khaki backpack in recycled polyamide with leather trims, a two-way zip on the main compartment, twin side pockets and a front zip pocket, and the leather shoulder straps can be restyled. It is beautifully made. Even so, it costs £450.
We include it because Paul Smith runs through this site already, from the Anglepoise Paul Smith edition to the collaborations we cover in our gift guide for designers. If you want the label, buy the label knowingly.
The flaw: no laptop size is quoted anywhere on the product page, and there is no mention of a padded sleeve. For a bag at this money that is a real omission, not a quibble. Additionally, leather trims and British rain are not natural companions.
£450 direct from Paul Smith, checked 28 August 2026.
Side by side
Every commuter backpack UK price, in one table
Every price below links to the exact listing the figure came from. Checked 28 August 2026.
| Pack | Capacity | Biggest laptop | Warranty | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Eastpak Padded Pak’r | 24L | None | 30 years | £45 |
| Rat Bags Original Ratpack | 4 sizes | None | Not stated | £48.50 |
| Osprey Daylite Plus | 20L | Not stated | All Mighty Guarantee | £52.99 |
| Carhartt 23L work pack | 23L | 15 inch | Not stated | £74.99 |
| Fjällräven Kånken Laptop 15" | Not stated | 15 inch | Not stated | £90.99 |
| Aer Go Pack 2 | 20L | 16 inch | Not stated | £99 |
| Rains Backpack | 18L | 15 inch (Rains also says 16) | 2 years | £100 |
| Antler Urban Light | 17L | Not stated | Not stated | £115 |
| Bellroy Classic Rolltop | 26L | 16 inch | 6 years | £159 |
| Briggs & Riley @Work Slim | Not stated | 14 inch | Lifetime | £269 |
| Paul Smith recycled polyamide | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | £450 |
Before you buy
Four things that actually decide it
Ignore litres for a moment. These four questions settle almost every backpack argument.
Measure your laptop, not your ambition
For example, a 16 inch MacBook Pro is 35.6 centimetres wide. Plenty of “15 inch” sleeves will not take it. Therefore check the maker's stated number before anything else, and treat silence as a no.
Water resistant is not waterproof
Most packs here shrug off a shower and let you down in a downpour, because the seams and zips are the weak points rather than the fabric. Rains is the closest thing to genuinely weatherproof on this list, and even Rains grades the Backpack W3, which its own scale defines as waterproof protection from light rain.
Warranty is a price, not a promise
A 30 year Eastpak warranty and a Briggs & Riley lifetime guarantee both cost you the postage in, and both cover defects rather than your own carelessness. So read what is excluded before you pay a premium for cover.
Straps matter more than litres
In short, the shoulder decides comfort, not the main compartment. If you walk more than fifteen minutes each way, the Osprey harness beats a prettier bag every time. If you would rather carry less altogether, our guide to the best travel accessories covers the pouches and packing kit that shrink what you need to bring.
Commuter backpack FAQs
What size backpack do I need for a 16 inch laptop?
Look at the stated laptop size, not the litres. A 16 inch MacBook Pro measures 35.6 by 24.8 centimetres, so you want a pack that explicitly says 16 inch. On this list that means the Aer Go Pack 2 at £99 or the Bellroy Classic Rolltop at £159. Indeed a 20 litre bag with a 16 inch sleeve beats a 30 litre bag with a 14 inch one.
Are waterproof backpacks actually waterproof?
Usually not, and the fabric is rarely the problem. In fact zips, seams and openings let water in long before a coated shell does. Rains rates its Backpack to an 8,000 millimetre water column and still grades it W3, meaning light rain, which tells you how carefully the good brands word this. However, if you cycle in real weather, a roll top with taped seams or a separate dry bag inside is the honest answer.
How long should a commuter backpack last?
In practice three to five years of daily use is normal for a mid-price pack, and the failure is nearly always a zip or a strap anchor rather than the fabric. Consequently a warranty that covers those two things is worth more than a thicker shell. Eastpak covers 30 years, Bellroy six, Rains two, and Briggs & Riley offers lifetime cover.
Is an expensive backpack worth it?
Sometimes, but not for the reason people assume. Above all you are buying harness engineering, a warranty and better hardware. You are not reliably buying more laptop space, as the chart above shows. Below about £60 you make real compromises; between £90 and £160 you get most of what is available; above £250 you are paying for a guarantee or a name.
What is the best cheap commuter backpack in the UK?
The Eastpak Padded Pak’r at £45, provided you accept there is no laptop sleeve and buy a £15 padded sleeve to go inside it. If you need a sleeve built in, the Carhartt 23L at £74.99 is the cheapest pick here with a real one.
Which backpacks are made in Britain?
Very few, unfortunately, at commuter prices. Rat Bags sews the Original Ratpack to order on the Isles of Scilly at £48.50, which is the only genuinely British-made pack in this list. Antler is a British brand founded in 1914, but that is not the same claim.
More from CoolCuration
- Senz storm umbrella: the other half of surviving a British commute, and it does not turn inside out.
- TrainPal: how split ticketing cuts the fare on the journey you are packing that bag for.
- Airtime Rewards: quiet cashback on the high street shops you already use.
- Best e-readers UK: the lightest thing you can put in the front pocket for the commute itself.
- Gift guide for travel lovers: if the bag is a present, the rest of the kit is here.
- Ocean Bottle: for the side pocket every pack on this list has.
What's trending
Recent posts
- Monzo Perks vs Max: Which Plan Should You Pay For?The gap between Monzo Perks and Max is £10 a month, and it buys three insurance policies. Priced honestly against buying them separately.
- Huel vs Real Food: Is Meal Replacement Actually Cheaper?Last updated: 14 September 2026. Every figure in this Huel vs real food comparison was priced on huel.com and tesco.com on 7 September 2026. By Stiv · Design, technology and personal finance Affiliate disclosure: This article contains affiliate or referral links. If you click through and sign up I may earn a commission or referral… Read more: Huel vs Real Food: Is Meal Replacement Actually Cheaper?
- Cheap Gifts That Look Expensive: 14 UK Picks Under £25Twenty pounds buys a Cecily Brown. Fourteen things under £25 from gallery shops and deadstock dealers, every price checked this week. The trick is buying after the exhibition closes.









No Comments.